Directly confirmed by an official source.
Guide · Release · Quick read
Getting ready for the November 19 launch
A short, deliberately unexciting checklist for launch day — and a note on which of the usual pre-launch advice is not based on anything Rockstar has published.
- Published
- Updated
- Last checked
You need a PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, an edition decision, and enough free storage. Everything else you have read about launch-day requirements is speculation.
What you actually need
- A PlayStation 5 or an Xbox Series X or Series S — these are the only announced platforms
- A decision between the Standard and Ultimate editions, if you are pre-ordering
- Free storage on the console you plan to play on
Pre-loading
Rockstar has announced that digital pre-orders can pre-load from November 12, 2026, a week before launch. The physical edition contains a download code and is also available from November 12, so it can pre-load too.
What nobody can tell you yet
- The install size — Rockstar has not published one
- Regional unlock times
- Whether a PC version will follow, and when
On pre-ordering
Edition contents and bonus cut-off dates differ between storefronts and regions. Whatever your storefront shows at checkout is authoritative — not this page, and not a summary article. See the editions entry for what has been announced.
Common questions
Can I play it on PS4 or Xbox One?
No. Neither is an announced platform, and neither has ever been listed as one.
Sources
- Rockstar Games — official Grand Theft Auto VI siteOfficialAccessed Oct 2, 2026
rockstargames.com/VI (opens in a new tab)
Primary source. Treated as authoritative for date, platforms and editions.
Should I pre-order to get the bonus?
Per Rockstar, the Vintage Vice City Pack comes with all pre-orders and purchases before November 20, 2026 — so pre-ordering is not the only way to get it. Check your storefront’s own terms, which are the ones that will actually apply to you.
Sources
- Rockstar Games Newswire — “Pre-Order Grand Theft Auto VI on June 25”OfficialAccessed Sep 11, 2026
rockstargames.com/newswire/article/5171972o… (opens in a new tab)
Primary source. Does not state prices — those come from storefront listings and press coverage of the same announcement.
Sources
- Rockstar Games — official Grand Theft Auto VI siteOfficialAccessed Oct 2, 2026
rockstargames.com/VI (opens in a new tab)
Primary source. Treated as authoritative for date, platforms and editions.
- Rockstar Games Newswire — “Pre-Order Grand Theft Auto VI on June 25”OfficialAccessed Sep 11, 2026
rockstargames.com/newswire/article/5171972o… (opens in a new tab)
Primary source. Does not state prices — those come from storefront listings and press coverage of the same announcement.
Last checked
